Chris Horner Joins Up US Squad Airgas-Safeway

late. The US team is a Continental-level outfit and Horner has signed a one-year contract with the team.

The 43-year-old rider is the oldest Grand-Tour champion in contemporary cycling and he would be riding for home III Division team in the coming year. After his stances at 1st Div. World Tour squads such as Lampre-Merida this year, the veteran cyclist did not find any elite team to sign up with for the coming season.

“I have earned huge success with my cycling career & I am very much proud of my achievements”, stated Horner. Continue reading “Chris Horner Joins Up US Squad Airgas-Safeway”

Some Names Omitted From The Aussie Tour De France

Iddo Snowy Munro and Don Kirkham were the first Australians that had taken part in the rides at the 3 weeks Tour which was a classic. It has been a century since they rode. It was a line up by Australia that was in honor of having completed a 100 years at the Tour De France.

The stars chosen to lead the cycling event were Phil Anderson and Cadel Evans. Apart from this Stuart O’ Grady has been a noted omission and will not be a part of the team of Australia for the Tour.

Stuart O’ Grady had made a confession the previous year to have doped. And it is the very reason that has probably made him sit back and he is not a part of the team that has nine players. Stuart had won two stages and also won the yellow jersey for leading the team. His career had been great until he accepted his doping after his retirement in 1998.

The team had been announced in Melbourne at the annual awards function for Australia Cycling. The function saw a celebration and praised Cadel Evans for his performance and outstanding career. Cadel also received a standing ovation at the function in honor of the great 20 year career he has had. Cadel has been the only Australian that has won the Tour along with his 2011 victory.

The team for the Tour which consists of nine people was divided into defined roles and Cadel and Phil were naturally the ones who were chosen as the classification riders. The man who had got the team green jersey thrice in the Tour, Robbie McEwen was the most obvious choice for being the team sprinter. Sir Hubert has been chosen as the captain of the team and Simon Gerrans who has worn the yellow jersey and also won many tour stages is going to be the all rounder for the team.

10th Tour of California to start in Sacramento on May 2015

The 10th edition of Amgen Tour of California to be held next year will start from Sacramento according to the latest announcement. The span of the 8 day race is about 700 miles; it will start from Sacramento and proceed southwards. It was also announced that the tour of California will hold a professional women’s race from 8th to 10th May. Also an invitational time trial event will be held on May 15th.

Altogether 52 California based cities have already hosted the race for the first nine years. In its 10th edition 12 cities including Sacramento will play host to the event. Nevada City is playing host to the event for the first time while it is the 10th time San Jose is hosting the event. Avila Beach, Pismo Beach, Santa Clarita, Santa Barbara, Ontario, Big Bear Lake, Mt Baldy, Pasadena and Downtown Los Angeles are the cities that are hosting the event.

Senior Vice President of AEG Sports and the Executive Director of the Tour of California, Kristin Bachochin said that after the race was initiated nine years ago, they have always tried not only to present the race as a challenge to the top professional cyclists but also to provide a scenic background. She further added that looking ahead to the tenth edition of the race, they’re sure that the viewers will be greatly entertained watching the race in a visually attractive course.

Amgen, a biotechnology company has been the title sponsor of the race for ten years consecutively.

The 2015 Tour of California greatly boost women’s cycling by hosting the women’s race. The course of the three day race passes through South Lake Tahoe and ends in Sacramento. The women’s race starts on the same day as men’s, on 8th May 2015 and ends on 10th May. SRAM is sponsoring the women’s race.

Some of the world’s top racers will be invited to take part in a time trial event before the men’s individual time trial event at the sixth stage of the race takes place in Big Bear Lake.

Achievements of the Colombian Women’s Cycling Team completely Overshadowed by the comments on Their Outfit

The Women’s Cycling Team of Colombia has landed themselves in the midst of media attention and controversy. Their new kit design left them looking exposed due to the unfortunate nude type strip near their vital regions. The media across the globe termed it as a fashion faux-pass and blew the matter out of proportion. Brian Cookson, the International Cycling Union (UCI) President termed the situation as unacceptable by any standard of decency.

The most unfortunate part of the whole episode is not the design of the outfit, but the reaction from different quarters of the society. It has again proved that the achievements of any female athlete mean nothing because she will never be looked beyond her body parts. The incident has overshadowed all their achievements till date.

The whole world and not just Colombia only notices a female athlete’s professional talents when she wins trophies or brings home gold medals. Whether it is the ladies team of Arsenal or the Williams Sisters, Jessica Ennis or the recent England Rugby team who became the Rugby World Champion, they are all noticed as they have performed exceptionally well in their sport. Apart from these few, most of the female athletes are only noticed for their appearances.

It is high time that they should be noticed for their talents and not their clothes. Here are some important aspects about the Colombian Women’s Cycling Team that the world should know. The team is the Bogota Humana of women’s cycling and it is backed by the Colombian Ministry of Sport. The Bogota, capital city sponsors the team. Not a single news agency or channel has mentioned the names of the players in spite of them being International racers. The names of the racers are Argenis Orozco, Laura Lozano, Luz Adriana Tovar, Ana Cristina Sanabria, Lina Duenas and Angie Rojas.  As per the reports of MailOnline, the annual race takes place to commemorate the death of Michela Fanini, former Italian Cycling Champion.